ALA Council I- Orlando conference June 26, 2016

Presiding Officer: Sari Feldman, ALA President
Assisting Presiding Officer: Julie B. Todaro, ALA President-Elect
Secretary of Council: Keith Michael Fiels, ALA Executive Director
Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Council began with reports of ALA/Council Committee Nominations for 2016-2017 Council Committee on Committees- This committee helps lay the committee appointments for the President.
The following Councilors stood for election

Ed Garcia
Library Director
Cranston Public Library
Cranston, RI

Hannah K. Lee
Senior Assistant Librarian
University of Delaware
Morris Library
Newark, DE

Cyndee Sturgis Landrum
Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library
Evansville, IN

Sandy Wee
Library Services Manager
San Mateo County Library
San Mateo, CA

Diane R. Chen
School Librarian
Stratford STEM Magnet High School
Nashville, TN

Kimberly Anne Patton
Youth Services Supervisor
Kansas City, Kansas Public Library
Kansas City, KS

Alexandra P. Rivera
Student Enrichment and Community
Outreach Librarian
University of Michigan Library
Ann Arbor, MI

Christian Zabriskie
Branch Administrator
Yonkers Public Library
Yonkers, NY

All Councilors were asked to vote for 4 councilors- results will be announced at Council II

There were several new business resolutions brought to the floor based on the Membership meeting the previous day.  At the Membership meeting any ALA member can bring forward a resolution for ALA Council to consider if it is presented, seconded and then the membership in attendance votes for it.  The first three resolutions presented at Council I came from the floor of the membership meeting.

Resolution Calling Upon Libraries to Build More Inclusive Communities,
ALA President Sari Feldman, ALA CD#44_62516_ACT- this was passed

Resolution on Gun Violence Affecting Libraries, Library Workers,
and Library Patrons, ALA President Sari Feldman,
ALA CD#45_62516_ACT- this was deferred to Council III so that it could be discussed at the Council on Legislation and the Council Forum

Resolution Concerning the Creation of the Deaf Culture
Digital Library, ALA President Sari Feldman,
ALA CD#46_62516_ACT- this was deferred to ASCLA and Council on Legislation.

Resolution in Support of the Professional Cataloging Processes
and Determinations of the Library of Congress,
Councilors Andrew Hart and Erin Stalberg,
ALA CD#39_6816_ACT- This was passed.

Resolution Concerning the Role of Chapters in the American
Library Association, Councilors Jayne Beline and
Cynthia Czesak, ALA CD#40_Revised 62416_ACT- This was deferred to discuss during the Council Forum and will be brought forward to Council II

If you would like to read the full resolution information, please go to ALA Connect on  You can browse all the documents or you can use the search feature and type ALA CD# (and what the number of the document is).  I have included this at the bottom of each resolution.

The last agenda item was a facilitated discussion where all council members were divided into small groups and we discussed the Libraries Transform initiative.  we discussed how we could be more proactive in helping everyone members, chapters, divisions and roundtables become more involved in this new initiative.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.