ALA Council II

Council II started at 10:00 am and the agenda was approved.  Several resolutions were included
• New Business:
Resolution Concerning Accessibility of ALA Conferences 10 Mins
and Meetings for People with Disabilities,
ALA CD#31_Rev_11016_act, ALA Councilors Christopher Corrigan;
Emily Bergman; Aaron Dobbs; Karen Downing; and Mike Marlin

Resolution on Replacing the Library of Congress Subject 10 Mins
Heading “Illegal Aliens” with “Undocumented Immigrants”,
ALA CD#34_ 1016_act
ALA Councilors Laura Koltutsky and Peter Hepburn
Both resolutions were asked to be moved to Council III tomorrow due to a need to have further discussions in committee meetings.

• Reports of ALA/Council Committees

– Policy Monitoring Committee
ALA Councilor Vicky Crone, Chair, ALA CD#17

– Constitution and Bylaws Committee
James R. Rettig, Chair, ALA CD#25

– Committee on Organization, Susan Considine, Chair,

– International Relations Committee
Leslie B. Burger, Chair, ALA CD#18

• Reports of Special Committees/Groups

– Freedom to Read Foundation Report
Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., FTRF President, ALA CD#22

ALA Treasurer Mario Gonzales presented the Strategic Direction- the programmatic priorities for FY 2017 include diversity, equitable access to information, education and lifelong learning, intellectual freedom, advocacy for library professional literacy, organizational excellence and transforming libraries.

Keith Michael Fiels lead announcements including the grand total of 10,736 of attendance as off today.
Council II adjourned at 10:40 am


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.