ALA Council III June 28, 2016

Presiding Officer: Sari Feldman, ALA President
Assisting Presiding Officer: Julie B. Todaro, ALA President-Elect
Secretary of Council: Keith Michael Fiels, ALA Executive Director
Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Council III traditionally opens with an opportunity to remember members to our profession who have passed away

Memorials, Tributes and Testimonials.
 Ned Vizzini, M-#7
 John Ganly, M-#8
 Naomi Kietzke Young, M-#9
 Orvin Lee Shiflet, M-#10
 Richard Sweeney, M-#11
 Dolores Bullock Owen, M-#12
 Trudy Seidel Jaques, M-#13
 Larry Romans, M-#14
 Charles Weld Robinson, M-#15-
There was a personal memorial statement by a colleague.
 Victims of the Pulse Nightclub Shootings, M-#16
 Resolution Honoring the 25th Anniversary of the Video Round Table, T-#3
 Resolution Honoring the 25th Anniversary of the Mortenson Center for
International Library Programs, University of Illinois at Urbana-
Champaign, T-#4
 Resolution Thanking Mary Alice Baish for Her Service as the 30th GPO
Superintendent of Documents, T#5

Reports of Officers
-ALA Treasurer’s Report
Approval of the Annual Estimates of Income &
FY2017 Budgetary Ceiling for FY2017,
Mario M. Gonzalez, ALA CD#13.3
o We are down 2.3% of revenues
o Request of council 65,403,215 for the FY 2017- passed
o Mario shared that revenue is flat or declining, we should focus on membership growth and looking at the change in the publishing field as that is a component of our budget.

– Report of the Tellers,
Councilor William (Bill) Sudduth, Chair, ALA CD#12.3

– Committee on Legislation,
Ann Dutton Ewbank, Chair, ALA CD#20.3-ALA CD#20.7
The following resolutions from the COL passed
• Senate Appropriators Reject WH LSTA Cut, Increase Funding:
• Marrakech Treaty support
• Resolution of Appreciation to Congressional Champions for support of school libraries and librarians in the ESSA.
• Equity for School Libraries for DOE making rules for ESSA
• Equity for all in school libraries- endorses that every student have access to a well funded, effective school program and librarian.

Intellectual Freedom Committee
Pamela R. Klipsch, Chair, ALA CD#19.3-ALA CD#19.9

Resolution on Gun Violence affecting Libraries, Library Workers and Library Patrons
• There was significant discussion from both sides of the resolution. The resolution is recommended to defer to Committee on Legislation and Intellectual Freedom Committee. Councilors spoke to their roles as stewards and also the place where you feel safe.
• The resolution to defer to MW 2017 was passed 86 yes to 50 no.

I am interested in hearing feedback on this resolution as it will appear again at Midwinter and I want to make sure I hear the thoughts, ideas and/or concerns about this resolution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.