Final Thoughts on ALA Chicago

We had several good deliberative discussions in Council and rather than moving work onto committees or learning more during Council Forum, we made decisions on two resolutions.

1. A Resolution on Global Climate Change and a Call to Support Libraries and Librarians providing opportunities for Council to raise concerns that information and data that was previously available for researchers on the EPA website had been removed. It was a very interesting debate which illuminated very different philosophies on how people work/feel today.

2. The 2nd Resolution was on indicating that Libraries are Responsible Spaces. The debate again highlighted that college campuses already create “safe spaces” for students but public libraries can not guarantee that their spaces will or can be assumed to be responsible or safe spaces. Obviously public libraries would like to always be as safe as reasonable but by the nature of the open environment, they can not guarantee that people will not be subjected to perspectives they don’t agree with. The public librarians contended that Customer Conduct Policies are often in place to address behaviors.

Finally, I am always struck with how most Councilors can have different views on topics and still be professional and encouraging of good debate.

Thanks as always for the opportunity to serve.


ALA Council III- Chicago

ALA Council III focused on Memorials and Tributes. It was a light agenda and we did not having any resolutions to discuss. Susan Hildreth discussed the Budget ceiling for the 2018 year and Pam Klipsch discussed any issues that came up in the year with the Intellectual Freedom Committee. The meeting adjourned early and then Council went to listen to the Closing Session Speaker Secretary Hillary Clinton.

Presiding: Julie B. Todaro, ALA President
Assisting: James (Jim) G. Neal, ALA President-Elect
Secretary of Council: Keith Michael Fiels, ALA Executive Director
Parliamentarian: Eli Mina
**Time Allowance
Order of Business
• Call to Order:
– Introductions and Announcements
Julie B. Todaro, ALA President

– Establishing the Quorum, (75 Councilors constitute a quorum)
Julie B. Todaro, ALA President

– Agenda Review
Julie B. Todaro, ALA President, ALA CD#8.7_62617_7:30pm_ACT

(New Items May be Introduced Here)
• Memorials, Tributes and Testimonials:
Julie B. Todaro, ALA President

Eric Moon, M-#10
Marija C. Sanderling, M-#11
Robert Henry ‘Bob’ Rohlf, M-#12
Dorothy Evans, M-#13
Joy L. Lowe, M-#14
Pauline Manaka (oral acknowledgement)
Amanda Rudd (oral acknowledgement)

Harry Bruce, T-#2
Keith Michael Fiels, T-#3
20th Anniversary of Victory in the
Communications Decency Act (CDA) Case, T-#4

• Reports of Officers:
– -ALA Treasurer’s Report
Approval of the Annual Estimates of Income & FY2018 Budgetary Ceiling
for FY2018, Susan H. Hildreth, ALA CD#13.3

– Committee on Legislation,
Ann Dutton Ewbank, Chair, ALA CD#20.1

• Reports of ALA/Council Committees:

– Intellectual Freedom Committee,
Pamela R. Klipsch, ALA CD#19.11-CD#19.13

• New Business

• Announcements:
Keith Michael Fiels, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

22,172 attendees

ALA Council II- Chicago

Presiding: Julie B. Todaro, ALA President
Assisting: James (Jim) G. Neal, ALA President-Elect
Secretary of Council: Keith Michael Fiels, ALA Executive Director
Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

• Reports of ALA/Council Committees:

Committee on Diversity, ALA Councilor Martin L. Garnar, Chair
The Committee on Diversity moves the adoption of the following action items:
CD # 44.1, Definitions of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
CD # 44.2, Resolution on Libraries as Responsible Spaces
Both resolutions passed.  The resolution on Responsible Spaces was altered to take out the whereas statement tied to “safe spaces” because it was considered that we can’t ensure safe.

Policy Monitoring Committee (PMC)
ALA Councilor Christopher J. Corrigan, ALA CD#17.1
The recommendation of the PMC was to add into the manual the statement on requiring an MLS for the Executive Director which was a resolution that was passed at the ALA Midwinter Conference in Atlanta.

Committee on Organization (COO)
Sue Considine, Chair, ALA CD#27.1

International Relations Committee (IRC)
Leslie B. Burger, Chair, ALA CD#18.1-CD#18.2

Recognizing and Photographing Retiring Councilors and
Executive Board Members, Julie B. Todaro, ALA President

• Reports of Special Committees:
Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF)
Martin L. Garnar, President, ALA CD#22.1

Center for the Future of Libraries 10 Mins.
Susan Kent, Chair, ALA CD#39

Conference Accessibility Task Force, Mike Marlin and
ALA Councilor Christopher J. Corrigan and ALA Executive Board
Member Mike L. Marlin, co-chairs, ALA CD#37.1

Registration- 16,003- 6,588 exhibitors, 22,591